Vintage Cookbooks from the 1970s

I love vintage cookbooks, as I’ve mentioned before. I’ve actually banned myself from buying them at Goodwill anymore. But I was at the Goodwill Outlet and couldn’t pass these up. Ended up buying 14 books; half of which were cookbooks but for such a steal! Plus, I feel like I’m rescuing treasures from being thrown away.

1

I got a signed Justin Wilson cook book, first printing of Cookin’ Cajun – Cookbook #2. I’ve got that up for sale on Etsy since having lived in New Orleans I’m pretty good at the cajun recipes already. Love his TV show too, what a character!

IMG_2569

This one is published in 1978 but the recipes are a blend Southern Comfort food, French techniques, seafood and creole flavors.

Here is his recipe for Beef Étouffée

Ingredients: 3 – 1/2 or 3/4in shouder steaks, 3 slices chopped lime, 2 cups chopped onion, 1 cup chopped bell pepper, 1 cup sauterne wine, parsely, garlic, lemon-pepper, soy sauce, red pepper, salt

Instructions: Season meat with lemon-pepper, salt, red pepper and garlic. Put the meat in a pot and add the rest of the ingredients. Cover and cook over low fire. Get it real hot to start, then turn down and cook it slowly until the meat is done. 

Sounds pretty easy, huh? The Sauternes wine he refers to is a sweet white wine.

IMG_2575

I also got a cookbook called Kitchen Magic: Cooking with Common Grains from 1974. I enjoy baking and am just getting into making my own bread.

IMG_2544 IMG_2546

I also got a cake decorating book. I have a few frosting tips but haven’t tried them since high school where I recall being absolutely horrible at it. I’ve heard you can practice piping with instant mashed potatoes to save a little money. This is a 1974 Wilton Yearbook of Cake Decorating.

IMG_2559

IMG_2562 IMG_2563  IMG_2561

I’ll save the other cookbooks for another post. Maybe I’ll try my hand at some kooky 70s recipes in the mean time.

Do you have a favorite classic cookbook? Let me know your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

