DIY Finial and Curtain Rod for under $5

Image

I finally hung curtains in the living room. I’ve had these cool curtain rod hangers that are swirly from Pottery Barn. They didn’t come with rods or finials. So I had to figure out a way to make it work on my own.

Image

DIY Curtain Rod – $1.27

First I tried a standard curtain rod but they were too thick to fit in the hole. So I went to Lowe’s and got silver-toned metal conduit. A 10 ft length is $1.27! Cheapest curtain rod ever! They are basically like thin pipes, you can cut to length with a hacksaw. Or if you are a defenseless girl like me, sweet talk the Lowe’s pipe cutter to cut it for you. (They cut wood, glass and pipe for free but technically not conduit.) i asked nicely and purchased the $5 hacksaw he had to use as the pipe cutting machine is too strong and basically crushes conduit.

Image

DIY Finial – $1

Now I just needed a finial. Why most of these are crazy expensive and or ugly I do not know. I went to the dollar store and looked in the floral area for Styrofoam balls. They have a bag with an assortment of sizes with 2 of each size. I used the largest. I colored them with origami paper I already had. You could use an thin paper like tissue paper or wrapping paper, strips of newspaper, etc. Glue to the Styrofoam ball. I used spray adhesive that is safe for foam ($7 at Lowes). You can use white glue, wood glue, or modge podge as well. Or the Papiermâché method of water and flour.

Image

Curtains

These came from Thrift Cit in Austin and were $10 a panel! Gorgeous copper to brown swirls pattern on a shiny cream background.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

