Eggs Cooked in Teacups

So I was watching an episode of The Little Paris Kitchen and she made a recipe called Oeufs en Cocotte or Eggs in Ramekins. Her little twist was to put them in teacups as of course the British are famous for their tea. Seemed a simply enough recipe so I thought I’d try it out. It is also one of the classic French recipes in Julia Child’s first cookbook.

Basically like a mini omelet baked in the oven in individual servings. Be sure to use something that will work in your oven. Thin fragile cups will not due. I happen to have some thick ceramic teacups. You can use mini cake pans, ramekins, pyrex or even a muffin tin.

Image

Step 1: Assemble your add ins (basically anything you have that would work in an omelet). In my case leeks, white cheddar, feta and cilantro. These just happened to be what I had laying around in the icebox.

Step 2: Put a dollop of creme fraiche in the bottom of your teacup. (I didn’t have any so I used Mascarpone cream cheese, you can use heavy whipping cream or sour cream as well).

Step 3: Put in your finely chopped add ins. Sprinkle in salt, pepper, nutmeg. Don’t over fill, the egg is still the star.

Image

Step 4: Drop in your egg being careful not to break the yoke.

Step 5: Put cups into a dish with a water bath so they heat evenly and don’t burn the edges. Bake in preheated oven at 350 for 10 min or so.

Image

Step 6: Keep an eye on them so they aren’t over cooked. If you like you yolk runny then 10 min if firm then 15 min.

I made each of mine different. One was feta, leek, and cilantro. The other was white cheddar & leek. I found the feta one was the best as it had perfect saltiness. If you don’t have leeks you can use green onions. I also realize I put perhaps too much add-ins. I wanted runny yolks but didn’t pull them out in time. I liked using the teacups as the handle made it easy to remove from the water bath by slipping a spoon handle in and lifting out.

You can also put in cooked add ins like bacon, crab, white onions, etc.

Overall delicious and super easy to make.

Leave a Reply

