A Sorta Fairytale

Well I scored another vintage wedding dress.

vintage wedding gown

I love when my favorite thrift store has big sales. Then I can get the really nice stuff which is usually out of my price range.

This is a lovely 1980s wedding dress by Jessica McClintock Bridal in almost a Gunne Sax style.

The skirt is very full and made from ivory brocade. The sleeve are super puffy. It is hard to tell on my mannequin (being that it has no arms) but the sleeves are actually off the shoulder. This is a nice compromise between sleeveless and short sleeves for those of us who may wear a large dress size and need a little bit of extra support for the girls.

Somehow this dress reminds me of the princess gown Amy Adams wears in Enchanted and a little bit of Princess Diana’s wedding dress. The funny thing is though they all have puffed sleeves they really all look quite different. Your memory of things is sometimes funny.

The clerk at the thrift store also now thinks I am crazy. She excitedly asked me, “Oh, are you getting married?”. My response, “Um, no, I just couldn’t pass up the sale.”

I am debating whether to up-cycle this dress. Should I take off some of the sparkly sequins? Remove the puff of the sleeve so it is just the little off the shoulder cap sleeve underneath? Or does this take away from the charm of it being a vintage 80s wedding gown?

For now I guess I will leave it as it is and put it on etsy and see if some future bride is interested in it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. tracey pelletier-birgel
    May 01, 2011 @ 14:29:24

    I found this dress at a vintage store. I re-designed the dress, using its org. bones. It was my wedding dress for my wedding in April 2011. Would love to share pictures of my re-design.(if anyone would like to see it)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

