This is Halloween

My absolute favorite holiday is Halloween! I start planning my outfit months in advance. I love dressing up and seeing everyone else’s costumes.

The neighborhood I grew up in is right near the Catholic school that I went to so lots of kids go trick or treating. Like 500 children. No, I’m not kidding. We count by how many pieces of candy we go through. Each person only gets one. All the houses on our surrounding blocks go all out with decorations and spooky music. Most other people these days get like 3 trick or treaters.

This year I’m going to be Cinderella. I found a cute prom dress from a thrift store months ago. It is pale blue satin and handmade. It has a very full skirt and a separate fitted bodice. I still need to finish my underskirt to make it all poofy. I’ve already bought the fabric so it should be easy. Alas, I couldn’t find a reasonable priced petticoat to fit me. I guess only size 6 people need them or something.

I did buy a pair of cute glass slipper lookalikes. They are made from clear plastic and are the jelly shoes so popular in the 1980s. I actually bought a size 9 online as that was all I could find. I was just going to cut the back off to make it fit as I would only be wearing it for a few hours. Turns out they do fit.

Cinderella Glass Slipper Jelly Shoes

I also found the above cute pair at my local thrift store. Very small size 6, so they are for sale on my etsy.

No, I’m not really into the whole Disney princess craze. But do like classic Disney movies. Though really Sleeping Beauty is my favorite childhood one and Mulan is my favorite new one.

Leave a Reply

