Mannequin

Well, I finally got a “real” mannequin. Nothing fancy just one of those half hanging kinds that retail stores use.

Vintage Wedding Dress

I’ve been looking for about 2 months. I really wanted an adjustable dress form. Craigslist, ebay, etsy were all way too expensive. But it is understandable since shipping it would be a pain. There used to be a retail outlet store near my parents house but it closed. I had even begun thinking up hair-brained schemes involving chicken wire and papier mache to make my own. But I am rather lazy so that was out.

The nice part of the one I ended up getting was I got it for $5 at my favorite thrift store. The sales girl kind of looked at me funny and asked what I would be using it for. I explained that I sold clothes online and it was just to make the pictures look nicer. Which it definitely does miles better than a hanger. And much more convenient and flattering than the feather pillow stuffed in a corset which I was previously using.

The weird thing about the mannequin is that it is kind of creepy having it laying around in my closet. It is also scarily realistic. Does it really need a belly button?

Oh, that and when photographing in the sunlight it sort of glows thru white fabric 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mannequin
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 09:19:27

    That’s a traditional headless mannequin, have a browse round my site if your in need of anything else.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

