Vintage Office Supplies

Summer is winding down and it is almost time for school to start back. This has gotten me thinking about school and office supplies. Ever since I was a kid I have loved school supplies. Am I the only one? Neat notebooks, folders, binders. Cool pens in interesting colors. Remember those really fat pens with like 15 colors you could click to change. A new fresh box of crayons or scented markers.

Now this interest has extended to vintage office supplies. I was going through some of my grandparents things and found a bunch of old office supplies. They never threw anything away. Some may be from the 50s or 60s. Somethings it is hard to tell when they are from. Generally, I use the logo design and the fact that they have no bar codes. Google is often helpful in researching items as well.

Noesting Nifty paper clips

I’ve found several things from a company called Noesting that makes the most awesome paper clips. They are perfectly round little curly Q’s called “Nifty” paper clips. Then I have some brass and steel paper fasteners or brads. (I just sold me first box on etsy so someone else must like them too.) Some thumb tacks in the same cute little boxes as the others. A really old pencil sharpener blades by a company called Hunts Pen Co. Some little brass file stencils that are only A thru D. An ink bottle from Sanfords in the 1960s. Some old unopened Carter’s ink pads. Some 4 inch brass paper clips or book markers from the 1980s. A scotch tape roll in a box from the 70s or 80s.

The list goes on… Some of it will turn up in my etsy store. Others will be put to use doing scrap-booking or maybe just kept around as a novelty.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Britt
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 13:44:23

    so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

