Vintage Sewing Patterns 1930s/1940s

The other day at a flea market I came across a whole batch of vintage sewing patterns from Simplicity and McCall’s from the 1930s up to the 70s. I found my first non printed pattern. Before the late 1940’s patterns were pre-cut on tissue paper rather than printed on paper. This one’s original price was 15cents and is a smart WWII era ladies suit. A little frayed at the corners but quite a nice picture and still usable for sewing. I got the man selling them to half the price which is always nice. I also wanted to get this old sewing box with tons of bits of lace, ribbon and buttons but I restrained myself as it was probably from the 70s and 80s and the same stuff still available at the fabric store now.

1940s Simplicity Sewing pattern

Leave a Reply

